top of page

The Winners for the 2017 GMA Dove Awards Are?

By Chavon Panton

Lights, camera, action! The 48th Annual Gospel Music Association Dove Awards was heaven on earth. Singers, producers and songwriters from in faith based music of all genres came out dressed to impress lastnight at the David Lipscomb University's Allen Arena in Nashville to celebrate one of the most prestigious event in Christendom. MercyMe, CeCe Winans, Zach Williams, the Gaither Vocal Band, Tamela Mann and Reba McEntire were among the top winners of the night. The show was hosted by Kari Jobe and Tasha Cobb Leonard who did a great job at entertaining the packed arena. Well, enough said, here is the a list of winners from the 2017 Dove Awards. The show will air Oct. 22 at 8pm CST on the CST network. GOSPEL ARTIST OF THE YEAR

CeCe Winans, Pure Springs Gospel - WINNER

Kirk Franklin, Fo Yo Soul Recordings/RCA Records

Tamela Mann, TillyMann Music Group

Tasha Cobbs, Motown Gospel

Travis Greene, RCA Inspiration ARTIST OF THE YEAR

Chris Tomlin, sixstepsrecords/Sparrow Records for KING & COUNTRY, Word Entertainment

Hillsong UNITED, Hillsong Music Australia/Sparrow Records

MercyMe, Fair Trade Services


TobyMac, ForeFront Records NEW ARTIST OF THE YEAR

Bri (Briana Babineaux), Marquis Boone Enterprises/Tyscot Records

Micah Tyler, Fair Trade Services

Social Club Misfits, Capitol CMG Label Group

Steven Malcom, Word Entertainment


“Trust In You” – Anthony Brown & Group therAPy, (writer) Anthony Brown

“Never Have To Be Alone” – CeCe Winans, (writers) Alvin Love III, Dwan Hill

“Father Jesus Spirit” – Fred Hammond, (writers) Fred Hammond, Derek “DC” Clark, Shelton Summons

“My World Needs You” – Kirk Franklin, (writer) Kirk Franklin - WINNER

“Work It Out” – Tye Tribbett, (writers) Tye Tribbett, Jevon Hill TRADITIONAL GOSPEL RECORDED SONG OF THE YEAR 

“You’re Bigger” – Jekalyn Carr, (writer) Allundria Carr

“Change Me” – Tamela Mann, (writer) Thomas Clay - WINNER

“Fix Me” – Tim Bowman Jr., (writers) Aaron W. Lindsey, Israel Houghton, Tim Bowman Jr. URBAN WORSHIP RECORDED SONG OF THE YEAR

“Victory Belongs To Jesus” – Todd Dulaney, (writer)

“Joy” – VaShawn Mitchell, (writers) Pat Barrett, Tony Brown - WINNER

“Everlasting God” – William Murphy, (writer) Fellowship Church CONTEMPORARY GOSPEL/URBAN ALBUM OF THE YEAR 

Let Them Fall In Love – CeCe Winans, (producers) Alvin Love III, Tommy Sims - WINNER

Worship Journal Live – Fred Hammond, (producers) Fred Hammond, Calvin Rogers, Phillip Feaster, 

One Way – Tamela Mann, (producers) Myron Butler, Tamela Mann, Kirk Franklin, Timbaland, Eric Dawkins, King Logan, Shaun Martin, David Mann

Secret Place – VaShawn Mitchell, (producers) VaShawn Mitchell, Thomas Hardin Jr.

Demonstrate – William Murphy, (producer) Aaron Lindsey TRADITIONAL GOSPEL ALBUM OF THE YEAR

The Journey LIVE – Donnie McClurkin, (producers) Donnie McClurkin, Trent Phillips, Tre’ Corley - WINNER

Azusa The Next Generation 2: Better  Hezekiah Walker, (producers) Donald Lawrence, Hezekiah Walker

You Deserve It – J.J. Hairston Youthful Praise, (producer) J.J. Hairston For a complete list of winners, visit 

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page